“Double fouls”

Previously, a “double foul” could only occur if both teams suffered the same penalty. Therefore, a “double foul” could not be called if two players committed similar fouls around the same time, but one team was in a “bonus situation” and another was not.

Now, to avoid confusion, a “double foul” can be called and penalised only if two fouls of the same calibre occur at approximately the same time. For example, both players commit personal fouls or both players commit unsportsmanlike fouls.

As part of this rule change the penalty for a technical foul was reduced to only one Free Throw. Previously possession was granted to the team victim of the technical foul, but now possession of the ball should remain with the same team after the technical foul Free Throw is shot.

Shopping Basket